Holly Love Childminding Services

Registered Childminder

The Foundation Phase


The Foundation Phase framework is the statutory curriculum for children aged 3 to 7 across Wales.  It provides seven areas of learning which complement each other and work together to ensure the holistic development of the child.  These areas are:

  • Personal and social development, wellbeing and cultural diversity
  • Language, literacy and communication skills
  • Mathematical development
  • Welsh language development
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative Development

Some of the key principles running through the foundation phase are that children learn through play, are active learners and that they develop holistically (as a whole person).  Children need exciting opportunities to explore through active learning.The Minimum Standards for childminders state that they are expected to demonstrate an understanding of the Foundation Phase principles and areas of learning.

 As I care for children of varying ages I try to extend the principles to all the children, including the babies.  Most activities are easily adapted for different ages and abilities and working to the Foundation Phase framework helps me to ensure my planning covers all development areas to enhance each child’s learning journey.

I recently had the opportunity to contribute to an article written by the NCMA on the Foundation Phase in Wales.  Please take a look here: www.ncma.org.uk/pdf/The_Foundation_Phase_in_Wales1.pdf


Breaking News!

I have been informed that a new 0-3 progress and development framework for childcare settings will be implemented soon using Foundation Phase principles.